Unreal Tournament Unreal Servers Discussion

Go Back   Omnip)o(tentS Forums > SERVERS > Unreal Tournament
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2010, 12:35 PM   #1
ARsEnAl51
WOOTAN MUTHAFUCKA WOOTAN!!

 
ARsEnAl51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bleeeet!
Posts: 4,774
Default Beta testers needed!
Reply With Quote


I'm looking for beta testers who would be willing to monitor a program while it's running.

What?
The task is to feed the program I'm working on with a huge load of data and watch overall CPU and individual core performances through the TaskManager (or anything equivalent) in different cases. This task should be performed a dozen times with the same data. With multiple cores, all this shouldn't take more than one or two minutes per run, that would make an overall 15 mins if everything goes well. If something goes wrong (ie: the program crashes and/or displays an error message), a description and/or a screenshot of the problem shall be sent my way.


Who?
People will have their application reviewed if their computer meet the following requirements :
- The CPU must have multiple cores.
- The operating system must be Windows XP or higher.
- UT2004 is not required on the system, but it would still be nice to have it installed.
- The presence of a RAM drive and/or a SSD on the system will automatically get you on the beta testers list if you have 4 or more cores

Lack of network connection is not an issue, so if you have a computer meeting the requirements above that is not connected to any network whatsoever, it's ok. I strongly advise against using corporate computers as the program requires administrative access to the registry base and leaves a config file behind (nothing you can't delete, but again, you need admin access for that).

Beta testers will not have to sign a NDA. I'm not coding some super secret high-tech stuff, I'm only looking for serious beta testers. Beta testers may be contacted later on for some more testing on the same program. And aside from being mentionned in the 'thanks', beta testers will not receive any reward.


How?
If you wish to sign up, just post your systems specs (computer at home/work, number of cores, OS, UT2004 installed or not, RAM/SSD drives along with their capacity).
__________________

Quote:
Jesus had so much lag it took him 3 days to respawn.
ARsEnAl51 is offline  
Old 06-17-2010, 08:23 PM   #2
Carpe Diem
seize this !! .l..

 
Carpe Diem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 7,692
Default
Reply With Quote


Q6600 oc'd to 2.8gig
WinXP or Win7
UT2004: Are you kidding ?
No RAM/SSD drive, Windows/UT drive WD Raptor.
__________________
Black holes are where God divided by 0. - Steven Wright






Carpe Diem is offline  
Old 06-19-2010, 12:52 PM   #3
G-Force
Insider

 
G-Force's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Jasonville, IN
Posts: 3,189
Default
Reply With Quote


AMD Phenom II X4 940 @ 3.0
eVGA GeForce 8800 GTS SSC 640MB
4 GIG - OCZ Fatality DDR2 (PC 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory
ASUS VW246H 24" Widescreen LCD Monitor
Asus CrossHair nForce 590 SLI Sempron/Athlon 64(FX)(X2) SktAM2 DDR2 ATX Motherboard w/Audio, Gigabit LAN, RAID/Serial ATA
Intel SSD X25-M 80 GIG / WD Black 1TB
OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI ATX12V 700W Power Supply
Logitech G5 931376-0403 2-Tone 6 Buttons 1x Wheel USB Wired Laser Mouse
Logitech G15 Backlit Gaming Keyboard w/ LCD
Creative Inspire P7800 90 Watts 7.1 Speaker
Atx Case Viper Red Wo/ps By Xg LCD Display Fan Speed
Custom Liquid cooling system
Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy 4 Pro
eDimensional AudioFX Force Feedback Gaming Headset


UNreal Anthology installed \ Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Bring it
__________________

sig by Necro
Send a message via ICQ to G-Force Send a message via MSN to G-Force Send a message via Yahoo to G-Force G-Force is offline  
Old 06-19-2010, 06:05 PM   #4
Carpe Diem
seize this !! .l..

 
Carpe Diem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 7,692
Default
Reply With Quote


Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Force View Post
Bring it
FU and your AMD. Come play Freon sometime, I'll kick your sorry little G-Force ass !
__________________
Black holes are where God divided by 0. - Steven Wright






Carpe Diem is offline  
Old 06-19-2010, 07:50 PM   #5
G-Force
Insider

 
G-Force's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Jasonville, IN
Posts: 3,189
Default
Reply With Quote


__________________

sig by Necro
Send a message via ICQ to G-Force Send a message via MSN to G-Force Send a message via Yahoo to G-Force G-Force is offline  
Old 06-20-2010, 02:05 AM   #6
ARsEnAl51
WOOTAN MUTHAFUCKA WOOTAN!!

 
ARsEnAl51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bleeeet!
Posts: 4,774
Default
Reply With Quote


Ooooooh a SSD with a quad core!

I gotta finish the test version first... should be done in either a few hours or a few days.
__________________

Quote:
Jesus had so much lag it took him 3 days to respawn.
ARsEnAl51 is offline  
Old 06-22-2010, 01:54 AM   #7
ARsEnAl51
WOOTAN MUTHAFUCKA WOOTAN!!

 
ARsEnAl51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bleeeet!
Posts: 4,774
Default
Reply With Quote


PM sent to you guys!
__________________

Quote:
Jesus had so much lag it took him 3 days to respawn.
ARsEnAl51 is offline  
Old 06-22-2010, 01:00 PM   #8
Flounder
Server Admin


 
Flounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,145
Default
Reply With Quote


Home computer (the computer at work is garbage)
Core i7-920 quad core (stock speed), X58 motherboard
Windows 7 Home Premium, 64-bit
UT2004 installed on SSD
6GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Intel 80GB X25-M SSD (plus two 1TB WD black and one WD 300GB velociraptor)
Flounder is offline  
Old 06-22-2010, 01:39 PM   #9
agribah
My name is Inigo Montoya

 
agribah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 53
Default
Reply With Quote


Windows 7 Professional x64
ASUS Maximus Formula
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.4 GHz
2GB (1GBx2), Crucial Ballistix DDR2 PC2-6400
250 GB, Seagate ST3250623A ATA
Sapphire Radeon Vapor-X HD 4890 1GB PCI-Es
SoundMAX Integrated Digital HD Audio

Obviously no SSD (not sure I trust them yet), but if I can help with your beta test, sign me up!
agribah is offline  
Old 06-22-2010, 03:31 PM   #10
ARsEnAl51
WOOTAN MUTHAFUCKA WOOTAN!!

 
ARsEnAl51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bleeeet!
Posts: 4,774
Default
Reply With Quote


PMs sent!
__________________

Quote:
Jesus had so much lag it took him 3 days to respawn.
ARsEnAl51 is offline  
Old 06-22-2010, 04:02 PM   #11
Carpe Diem
seize this !! .l..

 
Carpe Diem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 7,692
Default
Reply With Quote


Thought I'd post in here so everyone can see question, and answer.

How long do you need this test to actually run ? I did a few runs with it, anywhere from 1min to 5min.
Task manager plugs along, and it is tough to get an actual %use on the individual cores as there is
no axis markings on the graphs, and it does not capture a "average percentage" value of any sort ?

Here are the runs.

Run1: No Overload. 210 files (1.64gig) compressed to 800mb




Run2: With Overload "circled" (presume this is on ?). Same files as above




The horizontal scaling on the Task Manager graph is about 7seconds per square (didn't officially "time it" yet).

Note these tests run on my PC in normal mode, with about a dozen background processes. I'll kill them all for official runs,
but wanted your input and wants/needs based on what I tried.

Looks like the "overload" mode puts less load on the cores, but the process takes longer ?
__________________
Black holes are where God divided by 0. - Steven Wright







Last edited by Carpe Diem; 06-22-2010 at 04:18 PM..
Carpe Diem is offline  
Old 06-23-2010, 02:08 AM   #12
ARsEnAl51
WOOTAN MUTHAFUCKA WOOTAN!!

 
ARsEnAl51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bleeeet!
Posts: 4,774
Default
Reply With Quote


Quote:
Originally Posted by Carpe Diem View Post
Thought I'd post in here so everyone can see question, and answer.

How long do you need this test to actually run ? I did a few runs with it, anywhere from 1min to 5min.
Task manager plugs along, and it is tough to get an actual %use on the individual cores as there is
no axis markings on the graphs, and it does not capture a "average percentage" value of any sort ?

Here are the runs.

Run1: No Overload. 210 files (1.64gig) compressed to 800mb




Run2: With Overload "circled" (presume this is on ?). Same files as above




The horizontal scaling on the Task Manager graph is about 7seconds per square (didn't officially "time it" yet).

Note these tests run on my PC in normal mode, with about a dozen background processes. I'll kill them all for official runs,
but wanted your input and wants/needs based on what I tried.

Looks like the "overload" mode puts less load on the cores, but the process takes longer ?
It's ok, I don't need an accurate value for each core. Same goes for the timing, I simply need to be able to compare them across the different scenarios. Yup, when the button is pressed/"circled", it means it's enabled.

Just looking at your first picture, I can already tell you that the two threads are switching cores quite often. Nothing unusual here, but performances probably get a small hit out of that. I could force each thread to run on a single core. That should get two cores maxed out while leaving the others free.

As for the second picture, yeah, the workload is being balanced across all cores, so the overall use of each of them is lower. There's a lot of core switching going on here too, and again I could force each thread to run on a single core, I'm not quite sure this would improve performances (it could actually get them worse when the option is enabled). Maybe I'll implement this as another option for the next test version.

And about the poor performance when the option is enabled, that was expected. Basically, the processor finishes each chunk of data before the harddrive could get the chance to either cache or write the previous chunk. I tried to skip the caching step and write the data directly to the file system, but apparently this didn't help.

Another hit on the overall performances come from the creation of new files. That said, it is only clearly visible when writing a lot of small files.

Edit: AAAAAAAAAAARG! 3 different versions of Windows 7, 3 different bugs/crashes. I hate that...
__________________

Quote:
Jesus had so much lag it took him 3 days to respawn.

Last edited by ARsEnAl51; 06-23-2010 at 03:03 AM..
ARsEnAl51 is offline  
Old 06-23-2010, 05:48 AM   #13
ARsEnAl51
WOOTAN MUTHAFUCKA WOOTAN!!

 
ARsEnAl51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bleeeet!
Posts: 4,774
Default
Reply With Quote


Tested it on my VM (W7 Pro x32), apparently those issues are related to the x64 versions... hmmm :/

Edit: new version uploaded, download it with the same link I sent you via PM. I've fixed one or two bugs (one of those W7 x64 bugs at least) and introduced the Thread affinity feature. I'm not quite sure it'll work well or significantly improve the performances, but give it a whirl when you get the chance. Btw, whether the program crashes or not, it will output some debug info in a text file (AsyncJobQueue.Debug.txt) located in the working directory of the software (by default, the folder where you installed it). It probably won't contain much info, but maybe I'll be able to get something out of it... so yeah, if there's a crash or a bug, dont hesitate to upload it somewhere so I can have a look at it.
__________________

Quote:
Jesus had so much lag it took him 3 days to respawn.

Last edited by ARsEnAl51; 06-23-2010 at 12:54 PM..
ARsEnAl51 is offline  
Old 06-23-2010, 03:08 PM   #14
ARsEnAl51
WOOTAN MUTHAFUCKA WOOTAN!!

 
ARsEnAl51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bleeeet!
Posts: 4,774
Default
Reply With Quote


Apparently, I didn't upload the right version

Fixed ^^
__________________

Quote:
Jesus had so much lag it took him 3 days to respawn.
ARsEnAl51 is offline  
Old 07-14-2010, 05:49 PM   #15
Carpe Diem
seize this !! .l..

 
Carpe Diem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 7,692
Default
Reply With Quote


UnZeep 2 1.0 Results

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/836413/Unzeep%20Tests%20Carpe%20Diem.rar

[edit]

Forgot to mention, ran GameBooster to shut down most Windows and other background processes during testing.
__________________
Black holes are where God divided by 0. - Steven Wright







Last edited by Carpe Diem; 07-15-2010 at 09:08 AM..
Carpe Diem is offline  
Old 07-21-2010, 10:18 PM   #16
Flounder
Server Admin


 
Flounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,145
Default
Reply With Quote


I've attached the information. Sorry for the delay.
Attached Files
File Type: rar UZ2 info.rar (601.3 KB, 5 views)
Flounder is offline  
Old 07-22-2010, 01:36 AM   #17
ARsEnAl51
WOOTAN MUTHAFUCKA WOOTAN!!

 
ARsEnAl51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bleeeet!
Posts: 4,774
Default
Reply With Quote


Thanks for the files!
__________________

Quote:
Jesus had so much lag it took him 3 days to respawn.
ARsEnAl51 is offline  
Old 07-31-2010, 12:07 AM   #18
Moo
LOL BBQ SHOOP DA WOOP
 
Moo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UTAH
Posts: 535
Default
Reply With Quote


how many moo's are needed

i have an i7
__________________

Send a message via MSN to Moo Moo is offline  
Reply


Go Back   Omnip)o(tentS Forums > SERVERS > Unreal Tournament

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New ONS map Need Beta Testers TniOj Onslaught 9 03-16-2007 08:37 PM
Beta testers needed thePyro Games and Technology Workshop 8 01-30-2006 06:46 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.